Question: How Do I Wipe My Chromebook Before Selling It?

How do I change the owner on my Chromebook?

To change the owner of your Chromebook:Reset your Chromebook to factory settings.

This process will erase all data, files, and accounts on your Chromebook.Set up your Chromebook again, signing in with the account that you want as the owner..

Where is the Chromebook reset button?

First, turn off your Chromebook. Next, press Esc + Refresh on the keyboard and hold down the Power button. (The Refresh key is located where F3 would be on a typical PC keyboard.)

How can I erase the original user from a Chromebook I bought the owner?

On the Chromebook sign-in screen, select the profile you want to remove. Next to the profile name, select the Down arrow . Select Remove this user. In the box that appears, select Remove this user.

What does the hard reset do?

A hard reset, also known as a factory reset or master reset, is the restoration of a device to the state it was in when it left the factory. All settings, applications and data added by the user are removed. … Hard reset contrasts with soft reset, which just means to restart a device.

Can a Chromebook be tracked?

Many devices have ways to track them down if they are lost or stolen. Unfortunately, no Chromebooks are equipped with a GPS device which can be used to track. There is no location feature for Chromebooks because they do not have GPS.

How do you delete an administrator on a Chromebook?

Now, hold ESC + REFRESH (F3) and then hit power. It will boot into recovery mode and ask you some prompts. Follows them, the device will erase, reset, and that should remove the admin limits.

How do I change the administrator on my Chromebook?

Change Primary User of ChromebookLog into your Chromebook using the current owner account.Open Settings > Advanced > Reset settings.Click Powerwash. Click Restart to confirm. … When your Chromebook restarts, log in using the new account that you want to make the “owner” of this Chromebook.

How secure is chromebook powerwash?

Powerwashing a Chromebook is easy. Chrome OS is more secure than other popular operating systems but no operating system is 100% secure. … It completely wipes a Chromebook’s hard drive and installs a clean copy of the current version of Chrome OS.

How do I reset my Chromebook before selling it?

Powerwashing to reset your Chromebook back to factory defaultClick the menu on the bottom right of the screen. Then tap Settings.Scroll down and tap Show Advanced Settings.Scroll down and tap Powerwash.Tap Restart. When you restart you’ll be presented with the start screens.

What happens if I powerwash my Chromebook?

A Powerwash factory reset erases all the information on your Chromebook’s hard drive, including your settings, apps, and files. The factory reset won’t delete any of your files on Google Drive or an external hard drive.

How do you do a hard reset on a Chromebook?

Most Chromebooks don’t have a dedicated ‘reset’ button (some provide other options we’ll cover in a moment) the default method is to hold the ‘refresh’ button and tap the power button. Your Chromebook should instantly restart. On a Chrome OS tablet press and hold the Volume Up and Power buttons for 10 seconds.

How do I completely wipe my school Chromebook?

Option 1: reset with shortcut keysSign out of your Chromebook.Press Ctrl + Alt + Shift + R simultaneously.Click ‘Restart’ to restart your Chromebook.Click ‘Reset’ in the box that appears.Log in with your Google Account.Follow the instructions on the screen.Your Chromebook is now reset to it’s factory settings.

How do I factory reset my Chromebook without power washing it?

It turns out, you can still wipe the Chromebook clean with a keycode combination. At the first login screen, simply press Alt+Ctrl+Shift+R and tap the Restart button. Doing so brings up the Powerwash prompt, which you can choose to wipe the device clean within a few minutes.

How do I stop my Chromebook from syncing?

Turn sync settings on or off for your Samsung ChromebookNavigate to Settings. Click the Taskbar icon in the lower right corner of the screen, and then click the Settings icon.Turn off Sync settings. Search for and select Sync under People, and then click the switch next to Sync everything. Finally, click the switch next to sync categories you want to turn off.